Return to Headlines

2023 FCSS Social Studies Teachers of the Year

Congratulations to Lisa Burke of Lewis Carroll Elementary School and Jeffrey Draves of Viera High School for being named the 2023 Florida Council for the Social Studies (FCSS) Dr. Theron Trimble Social Studies Teachers of the Year. They will be honored with this state award at the annual FCSS Conference in Orlando this October.


Ms. Burke is the Elementary School Social Studies Teacher of the Year, while Mr. Draves is the High School Social Studies Teacher of the Year. 


Ms. Burke has been involved with and accomplished much within her school including being the SAC Secretary since 2001, Social Studies Contact since 2012, Lead Mentor since 2018, Social Committee Coordinator, CPALMS writer since 2018, inservice presenter, Lewis Carroll Teacher of Year 2020-2021 and Brevard County Social Studies Teacher of the Year in 2023. Ms. Burke also recently acquired her Civics Literacy Endorsement. She is also a member of professional organizations such as the NEA (National Education Association), FEA (Florida Education Association), and the Florida Council of Social Studies.


Mr. Draves was nominated to receive this honor because he was Brevard’s 2018 FCSS Social Studies High School Teacher of the Year and a Finalist for the Dr. Trimble Award. He was also named Viera High School’s 2017 Teacher of the Year and is the recipient of the 2019 Harry T. Moore Teaching for Civil Rights and Civil Liberties Award. Teaching since 2002, Mr. Draves serves as Department Chair, sponsors Model Student Senate, and currently teaches AP World History and AP Capstone Seminar at Viera High School.