Return to Headlines

BPS Honors Rookie and Emerging Teachers

The 2023-2024 school year is quickly approaching an end. This week, the school district surprised six of our best first- and second-year educators. Each year, we honor Rookie Teachers of the Year and Emerging Teachers of the Year.


The winners for Rookie Teacher of the Year are Semaiah Kierstead from Mims Elementary, Emily Misquitta from Jackson Middle, and Veronica Thordardottir from Melbourne High.


The winners for Emerging Teacher of the Year (a second-year teacher with BPS) are Adastra Montanez from University Park Elementary, Charles Marchetti from Kennedy Middle, and Sean Campbell from Cocoa Beach Jr./Sr. High.


Congratulations to all these wonderful teachers. We can’t wait to see what you accomplish next year in the classroom!



Posted 5.17.24