Return to Headlines

2021 BPS Sunshine State Scholars

2021 BPS Sunshine State Scholars – Sid Antoine and Om Patel


Brevard Public Schools has selected Sid Antoine, a junior at Viera High School, and Om Patel, a junior at Eau Gallie High School, to represent Brevard as Florida Sunshine State Scholars.


Each of Florida’s school districts selects their top 11th grade students in the areas of Science, Technology, Engineering or Mathematics (STEM). Each Sunshine State Scholar, along with their parents, will travel to Orlando in April for an extraordinary two-day program designed to bring together scholars from around the state, connect them with employers that specialize in the STEM fields, and create a networking opportunity between the scholars and schools from Florida’s College and State University System. This year’s program will bring 103 high school STEM scholars together to conduct a “think tank” on tough Florida challenges.


Congratulations to Brevard’s Sunshine State Scholars, Sid Antoine and Om Patel, as well as the following finalists from Brevard Public Schools:

  • Daniel Acosta, Bayside High School
  • Tehya A. Bahsoun, West Shore Jr./Sr. High School
  • Jackson Bailey, Astronaut High School
  • Simone Charles, Heritage High School
  • Jake Deluca, Cocoa High School
  • Brandon Desmarias, Odyssey Charter Jr./Sr. High School
  • Jonathan Dooley, Palm Bay Magnet High School
  • William Connor Fitzpatrick, Melbourne High School
  • Quin Fredrickson, Palm Bay Magnet High School
  • Peter Gordon, Bayside High School
  • Xavier Gutierrez, Heritage High School
  • Ethan Heise, Melbourne High School
  • Nathan Horton, Cocoa Beach Jr./Sr. High School
  • Madeline E. Huberman, West Shore Jr./Sr. High School
  • Wolfgang Humke, Rockledge High School
  • Tyler Jones, Satellite High School
  • Harper Knopf, Rockledge High School
  • Zachary Knutson, Viera High School
  • Michael Logsdon, Merritt Island High School
  • James McMullan, Eau Gallie High School
  • Nishant Mehta, Edgewood Jr./Sr. High School
  • Rachel Moore, Merritt Island High School
  • Savannah Ogletree, Space Coast Jr./Sr. High School
  • Neil Reddy, Satellite High School
  • Jade Stokes, Cocoa High School
  • Thomas Tibbetts, Cocoa Beach Jr./Sr. High School
  • Jon Wang, Edgewood Jr./Sr. High School
  • Jason Riley Whitson, Titusville High School
  • Thomas Williams, Titusville High School